image1 image2 image3


2006 Colours of the Country Celebrating 10 Years of the Alice Springs Beanie Festival

 In 2006, the Alice Springs Beanie Festival celebrated its tenth event. It was our biggest festival to date. Over 10,000 visitors came through the doors to participate and enjoy the 4 days of activities.
Over 1460 visitors from the NT and 1770 from interstate visited the exhibition, and it was featured on television news nationally through Imparja, ABC. A story also featured in ABC Asia TV and in various newspapers and radio interviews around Australia and internationally.
Visitors purchased over 2800 beanies, participated in textile workshops, enjoyed homegrown cooking at the teashop and listened to local musicians. Fantastic! Not just knit one purl one after all!

2006 Beanie Festival Competition Winners

1 Most sculptural beanie
Winner: Margaret Perkins - VIC
Runner Up: Yazmina-Michele De Gaye - NSW

 Kerry Elsome  Margaret Perkins
 Kerry Elsome  Margaret Perkins

2 Spirit of the land
Winner: Soosie Jobson - WA
Runner Up: Geoffry Campbell - Titjikala

3 Beanie that best incorporates a design of Australian native flora and fauna
Winner: Faye Clifton - NSW
Runner Up: Wendy Davis - Yarrawonga

4 Most festive beanie
Winner: Shaz Harrison-Williams - TAS
Runner Up: Ungakini Tjangala

 Wendy Davis, Pelicans
 Wendy Davis, Pelicans Soosie Jobson

5 Most stylish beanie
Winner: Kerry Elsome - QLD
Runner Up: Kathy Frank - Alice Springs

6 Mad Hatter’s Prize
Winner: Aiko Takahashi - Japan
Runner Up: Megan Jack - nomadic

7 Best Tea Cosie
Winner: Aukje Boonstra - TAS
Runner Up: Robyn Parish - NSW

 Aukje Boonstra Nora Campbell Beanie 
Aukje Boonstra Nora Campbell

Special Prizes

8 Committee prize for the best use of embellishment
Winner: Nora Campbell - Titjikala, NT

9 Central Australian Prize for Makers of the Region
Winner: Tjaria Stanley
Ungakini Tjangala- Ernabella, SA

Alli Symons
Alli Symone  Aiko_Takahashi

10 Beanie Festival Committee Acquisitive Prize for Wonderful and Unusual Work
Winner: Nicky Schonkala - Alice Springs

11 The Robbie Beard Prize for Innovative Work
Winner: Alli Symone - SA
Runner Up: Jennifer Ashbolt - WA

12 People's Prize: The Favourite Beanie of 2006
Debbie Swanick- Howarth, Carnivale (see below)

Jenny Bellew, Designer, Cleckheaton
Gay Epstein- Director Ashford Australia
Dan Murphy, Artist
Sonja Maclean, NT Arts
The exhibition was held in Gallery One of the Araluen Galleries from 1 July - 16 July 2006

Highlights of 2006

  • the development of the competition exhibition into a multi media spectacle,which included footage and slide shows from past festivals projected in large format on the walls of the gallery
  • the overhaul of Beanie Central - including the development of the amazing beanie installations
  • the development of the big top beanie, under which the musicians and festivities occurred
  • the painting of the mighty beanie bus
  • chocolate mud cake with cream and raspberry sauce at the tea shop
    the publication of two books celebrating the Beanie Festival's first ten years. “Colours of the Country” is a beautiful collection of photographs and stories depicting the history of the festival, and “Scrumptious Recipes from the Beanie Festival Teashop” speaks for itself.


 Shaz Harrison, Most Festive Beanie

free joomla templatesjoomla templates
2016  Beaniefest  globbers joomla templates